Emancipation Proclamation

The Emancipation Proclamation consists of two executive orders issued by United States President Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War. The first one, issued September 22, 1862, declared the freedom of all slaves in any state of the Confederate States of America that did not return to Union control by January 1, 1863. The second order, issued January 1, 1863, named ten specific states where it would apply. Lincoln issued the Executive Order by his authority as “Commander in Chief of the Army and Navy” under Article II, section 2 of the United States Constitution. Many falsely believe the Emancipation Proclamation freed all slaves. This is not the case as stated above. Slavery was outlawed throughout the United States with the adoption of the Thirteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution on December 6, 1865.

Scroll Up