Texas Republic

The Republic of Texas was an independent sovereign country in North America that existed from March 2, 1836, to February 19, 1846. It came into existence when the Mexican province of Tejas (Texas) declared its independence from Mexicon during the Texas Revolution in 1836. The republic was bordered by Mexico to the west and southwest, the Gulf of Mexico to the southeast, the two U.S. states of Louisiana and Arkansas to the east and northeast, and United States territories encompassing parts of the current U.S. states of Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, and Wyoming to the north. The citizens of the republic were known as Texians.

Republic of Texas

Scroll Up